Building Relationships
Essential Competence No. 2: Take Charge

Bulding Relationships

It doesn't happen often enough that leaders speak to their employees in a straightforward and comprehensible manner about their employees' performance.  As a consequence, employees experience a lack of guidance and motivation.  Very often, leaders are reluctant to talk to employees about their performance because they feel insecure about talking openly about the very essence of all human relationships, which is giving and taking. In our coaching sessions, leaders get personalized support that will enable them to actively seek conversations with their employees in a responsible manner.

Possible objectives and content

Improving conversation techniques
Unequivocally addressing what is expected from employees
Handling one's own and other people's emotions
Delivering bad news
Employee leadership in times of major change
Options for reacting to refusal, resistance and defiance on the part of employees
Difficult leadership situations
Improving one's personal presence

Situations and occasions for coaching with the objective of "Building Relationships"

Preparing future leaders for everyday leadership activities
Working on existing conflicts with specific employees
Sorting out difficult leadership situations
Restructurings and mergers
Employees who have already quit in their minds
Inadequate employee performance
Conflicts with employees

Benefits for the organization

Leaders who proactively interact with employees in a responsible manner will achieve better results in the long term. They will be a strong role model for employees and co-workers. Leaders will trust their own abilities regarding conversation techniques and will therefore be able to promptly sort out conflicts.

Benefits for leaders

Leaders will need less time and energy for difficult situations involving employees. They will have a clear idea of the performance they expect. If an employee does not perform as expected, leaders will address the issue in a straightforward and comprehensible manner. They will not dwell on difficult situations for a long time and will have their minds set on new creative tasks instead.

Methodology

Solution-oriented questions
Mental journeys and visualization exercises
Role play
Conversation technique exercises
Analyzing existing conflicts

Creativity techniques

 

Participant quote: "Now I know what I expect from my employees and how to tell them."

 

back

Building Relationships
Essential Competence No. 2: Take Charge

Bulding Relationships

Führungskräfte sprechen zu selten mit ihren MitarbeiterInnen in klaren, verständlichen Worten über die Leistung der MitarbeiterInnen.  Diese fühlen sich daher orientierungslos und demotiviert.  Führungskräfte wollen in vielen Fällen nicht mit MitarbeiterInnen über deren Leistung sprechen, weil sie das offene Gespräch über den Kern jeder menschlichen Beziehung – nämlich  das Geben und Nehmen – unsicher macht. Im Coaching kann jede Führungskraft individuell dabei unterstützt werden, den Kontakt im Gespräch verantwortungsvoll zu suchen.

Mögliche Ziele und Inhalte

Gesprächsführungstechniken verbessern
Erwartungen an MitarbeiterInnen klar aussprechen
Umgang mit eigenen und fremden Emotionen
Schlechte Nachrichten überbringen
Mitarbeiterführung in Zeiten starker Veränderung
Mögliche Reaktion auf Verweigerung, Widerstand und Trotz der MitarbeiterInnen
Schwierige Führungssituationen
Persönlichen Auftritt verbessern

Situationen und Anlässe für ein Coaching mit dem Ziel „Building Relationships“

Zukünftige Führungskräfte auf die tägliche  Führungsarbeit vorbereiten
Bestehende Konflikte mit einzelnen MitarbeiterInnen bearbeiten
Schwierige Führungssituationen klären
Umstrukturierungen und Fusionen
Innere Kündigung von MitarbeiterInnen
Mangelnde Leistung von MitarbeiterInnen
Konflikte mit Mitarbeitern

Nutzen für die Organisation

Führungskräfte, die verantwortungsvoll und proaktiv das Gespräch mit den MitarbeiterInnen suchen, erzielen langfristig bessere Ergebnisse. Sie sind ein starkes Vorbild für MitarbeiterInnen und KollegInnen. Die Führungskräfte vertrauen auf ihre Fähigkeiten bei der Gesprächsführung und können Konflikte schnell klären.

Nutzen für die Führungskräfte

Führungskräfte brauchen weniger Zeit und Kraft für schwierige Situationen mit MitarbeiterInnen. Sie haben ein klares Bild davon, welche Leistung sie erwarten. Bringt ein Mitarbeiter oder eine Mitarbeiterin nicht die erwartete Leistung, so sprechen die Führungskräfte das in einfachen, klaren Worten an. Sie tragen belastende Situationen nicht lange mit sich herum und sind daher innerlich frei für gestalterische Aufgaben.

Methode

Lösungsorientierte Fragen
Fantasiereisen und Visualisierungen
Rollenspiele
Gesprächsführungsübungen
Analyse der bestehenden Konflikte
Kreative Techniken

 

Zitat Teilnehmer: „Ich weiß,  was ich von meinen Mitarbeitern will und wie ich es ihnen sagen kann.“

 

zurück