Public High Potentials

How talented constitutional lawyers and experienced avalanche fence technicians learn leadership together

Client inquiry

Employees of several organizations in the public sector, who have already been appointed to assistant department head or are about to be promoted, shall be given the opportunity to prepare themselves for the role of assistant department head by participating in a seminar. The organizations choose and register their own participants. There is a substantial challenge: the group of participants is extremely heterogeneous. There are constitutional attorneys, avalanche fence technicians, teachers and police officers, ranging from 28 to 54 years of age.

Consultation

The workshop is publicly announced for open bidding. We are one of twelve vendors. In our written proposal, we propose a seminar with three modules, including an initial workshop and two follow-ups. We orally present this suggestion and illustrate how we handle heterogeneous groups. The most important question during this consultation is: "How can we ensure that employees are nominated who not only have potential, but who also have a good shot at a leadership position?“ Together, we developed the idea to hold a workshop with the human resources development professionals in all areas of the organization. Our presentation is convincing, and we are entrusted with taking on this program.

Program objectives

Creating one’s role in a proactive manner
Using goals to give employees direction
Effectively leading conversations
Calmly dealing with emotions
Giving and receiving helpful feedback
Motivating people with optimism
Giving praise and expressing criticism in a fair way
Standing by teams during their development
Calmly and confidently dealing with conflict
Fostering innovation within the team
Using emotions for team motivation
Running project group with confidence and tact
Change management

Program design

For the very beginning, we plan a seminar for human resources development professionals, in which no specific content is taught. Rather, the seminar gives the participants the opportunity to actively discuss the methodology they used to select the High Potential participants. The seminar consisted of an initial workshop, three modules, and two follow-ups. In addition, each participant can name a mentor, who will help and support the participant’s further development. The mentors attend a one-day workshop on the topic of coaching techniques.

Implementation

Subgroups quickly form in the first program. One group was repeatedly asking for instructions, theories, and facts. The second group wanted to reflect more on their own leadership behavior.  Other participants observed these developments with eager expectation, as if it were a play in a theater. This discussion about how one learns to lead remained gripping all the way to the last module. In the beginning, the participants perceive the enormous differences as a burden. Finding a common language is difficult for them. Little by little, it becomes clear that a big learning potential lies precisely in those differences. All participants realize that communication and leadership are strongly context-dependent, and that there are no general leadership rules for all areas.

Evaluation

After each module as well as after the conclusion of the program, all participants were asked, using questionnaires, about the effectiveness of the joint learning experience. The in-session feedback was extremely important for the direction and future development of the program. Guided by the mentors‘ assessment, we decide to allow even more time between the initial workshop and the mentors’ workshop before holding the participants’ workshop. For the second program, during the initial workshop and the first module, we deliberately allow even more time for differences to become apparent.


Top

Public High Potentials

Wie begabte VerfassungsjuristInnen und erfahrende LawinenverbauerInnen miteinander Führung lernen

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter mehrerer Organisationen des öffentlichen Bereichs, die schon zum stellvertretenden Abteilungsleiter bzw. stellvertretenden Abteilungsleiterin ernannt wurden oder kurz davor stehen, sollen die Möglichkeit bekommen, sich in einem Lehrgang auf ihre Position als Abteilungsleiter bzw. Abteilungsleiterin vorzubereiten. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer werden von den einzelnen Organisationen ausgewählt und angemeldet. Es gibt eine große Herausforderung: Die Gruppe der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer ist sehr heterogen. Es gibt VerfassungsjuristInnen, LawinenverbauerInnen, LehrerInnen und PolizistInnen im Alter zwischen 28 und 54 Jahren.

Klärung im Beratungsgespräch

Die Durchführung des Lehrgangs wird öffentlich ausgeschrieben. Wir sind einer von zwölf AnbieterInnen. Wir schlagen in unserem schriftlichen Angebot  einen Lehrgang mit drei Modulen, einen Start-Workshop und zwei Follow-up-Terminen vor. Wir präsentieren den Vorschlag mündlich und beschreiben anschaulich, wie wir mit heterogenen Gruppen umgehen. Die wichtigste Frage im Beratungsgespräch ist: „Wie können wir begünstigen, dass TeilnehmerInnen nominiert werden, die nicht nur Potential, sondern auch gute Aussichten auf eine Führungsposition haben?“ Wir entwickeln gemeinsam die Idee, einen Workshop mit den PersonalentwicklerInnen aller Teilorganisationen zu machen. Wir können mit unserer Präsentation überzeugen und werden mit der Durchführung des Lehrgangs beauftragt.

Festgelegte Ziele

Eigene Rolle proaktiv gestalten
Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen mit Zielen Orientierung geben
Gespräche effektiv führen
Mit Emotionen gelassen umgehen
Hilfreiches Feedback geben und nehmen
Menschen mit Zuversicht motivieren
Anerkennung und Kritik annehmbar aussprechen
Teams in ihrer Entwicklung begleiten
Sicher und gelassen mit Konflikten umgehen
Innovation im Team gezielt fördern
Emotionen im Team für Motivation nutzen
Projektgruppen souverän und feinfühlig steuern
Change Management

Design des Lehrgangs

Ganz am Anfang planen wir den Workshop für PersonalentwicklerInnen, in dem keine Inhalte vermittelt wurden, sondern den TeilnehmerInnen die Gelegenheit gegeben wird, sich intensiv über ihre jeweiligen Methoden zur Auswahl der High Potentials zu unterhalten. Der Lehrgang umfasste einen Start-Workshop, drei Module und zwei Follow-ups. Außerdem kann jede Teilnehmerin und jeder Teilnehmer eine Mentorin oder einen Mentor namhaft machen, die oder der in der weiteren Entwicklung unterstützen kann. Die Mentorinnen und Mentoren nehmen an einem eigenen eintägigen Workshop zum Thema Coachingtechniken teil.

Durchführung

Im der ersten Lehrgangsgruppe bildeten sich sehr rasch Untergruppen. Die eine Gruppe verlangte mit viel Nachdruck nach Rezepten, Theorie und Fakten. Die zweite wollte mehr an Reflexion über das eigene Führungsverhalten. Die anderen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer beobachteten das Geschehen mit Spannung, wie ein Theaterstück. Diese Auseinandersetzung um die Frage, wie man Führung lernt, bleib spannend bis ins letzte Modul. Am Anfang erleben die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer die großen Unterschiede als Belastung. Es fällt ihnen schwer, eine gemeinsame Sprache zu finden. Nach und nach zeigt sich, dass gerade in den Unterschieden ein großes Lernpotential liegt. Es wird allen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern klar, dass Kommunikation und Führung ganz stark kontextabhängig sind und es keine einheitlichen Führungsregeln für alle Bereiche geben kann.

Evaluation

Alle Teilnehmer wurden nach jedem Modul und am Ende des Lehrgangs mit Fragebogen zu der Wirksamkeit des gemeinsamen Lernens befragt. Für die Steuerung und Weiterentwicklung des Lehrgangs war das Steuerungsfeedback in den Modulen sehr wichtig. Die Einschätzung der Mentorinnen und Mentoren führt dazu, dass wir den Startworkshop und den Workshop für die MentorInnen noch weiter vor den Startworkshop der TeilnehmerInnen legen. Beim zweiten Lehrgang lassen wir beim Start-Workshop und im ersten Modul ganz bewusst noch mehr Zeit für das Sichtbarwerden der Unterschiede.

 

nach oben